2199

Date

2016

Dimensions

3000 x 3000 mm

Hardware / Material

Three rotative platformes and chairs / wood / acrylic / steel / electronic components (motors and drivers, encoder, arduino mega) / speakers / power supply / virtual reality headsets / mac mini

Software

Unity / Arduino

2199 est une installation de réalité virtuelle performative, questionnant les notions d’autorité, de perception et de contrôle. Trois utilisateurs portant des casques de réalité virtuelle sont assis sur des plateformes rotatives. Ensemble, ils sont entraînés dans une chorégraphie par une voix qui leur donne des ordres.

L’utilisateur se retrouve dans un monde virtuel minimal, abstrait, mais plutôt fidèle à la réalité physique et spatiale qui l’entoure. Les plateformes et les chaises présentes physiquement apparaissent également dans la réalité virtuelle et sont positionnées en conséquence. Les mouvements de tête des utilisateurs sont également transcrits en temps réel dans le monde virtuel.

L’expérience commence par une voix – diffusée par haut-parleur – accueillant l’utilisateur et lui donnant des ordres. Il n’est pas explicitement forcé de suivre les instructions de celle-ci, mais le contexte le conditionne à le faire. Cette narration sonore l’invite à regarder certains points précis du monde virtuel contenant des instructions textuelles, qui, en étant observées, lancent des rotations physiques de la plateforme et de sa chaise. L’utilisateur contrôle son propre mouvement dans la mesure de ce que nous lui permettons de faire.

En collaboration avec les deux autres participants, il prend part à une chorégraphie. Malgré lui, l’utilisateur devient un acteur de l’œuvre, lui donnant vie et assumant la responsabilité potentielle de son succès ou de son interprétation.

À chaque instant, il entrevoit ce que les autres font à travers la réalité virtuelle. Le fait de faire partie d’un groupe renforce-t-il le sentiment d’obéissance et contribue-il à la cohérence de la chorégraphie?
Quand l’utilisateur prend-il conscience de cette supercherie?

L’expérience s’arrête en ramenant tous les utilisateurs dans la position initiale et en les obligeant à retirer le casque VR. L’expérience est généralement suivie d’une discussion avec « les performers » expliquant les enjeux de cette pièce et les invitant à regarder la prochaine chorégraphie qui sera réalisée par les visiteurs suivants.

L’œuvre prend alors tout son sens avec cette double lecture et cette confrontation entre ce qui se passe simultanément dans l’environnement réel et dans le virtuel.

2199 est une référence à la date à laquelle les gens sont supposés vivre dans le film Matrix, lui-même inspiré du livre Neuromancer écrit par William Gibson. Dans ce livre, la réalité virtuelle est devenue impossible à différencier de la réalité, elle est par conséquent utilisée pour forcer les gens à prendre des décisions.

Cette pièce est également inspirée par les expériences de contrôle et de soumission à l’autorité, menées dans les années soixante, telle que l’expérience de Milgram. Dans le cadre d’une expérience artistique également, on peut observer une acceptation morale du protocole mis en place.
En effet, les visiteurs semblent très influencés par ce que les autres participants auront fait avant eux.

Dans cette expérience artistique, nous utilisons ces principes et essayons de voir jusqu’où une personne peut être poussée par des ordres devenant de plus en plus absurdes à mesure du déroulement de l’expérience. Cette expérience permet également de rendre compte du degré d’immersion auquel chaque personne peut accéder. Ce degré varie grandement selon les individus. Par exemple, certaines personnes ont réussi à oublier la réalité physique et tout ce qui en découle, comme la peur de paraître ridicule ou la sensation d’être observé.

2199 est une expérience inédite qui constitue une réflexion et une critique de notre vulnérabilité en utilisant des technologies immersives, en particulier la réalité virtuelle. Aujourd’hui elle est victime de son succès et trop souvent utilisée sans être questionnée.

Exhibitions

04.04.2018—08.04.2018
Mirage Festival

21.11.2017
Digitaltag ZHDK

24.08.2017—27.08.2017
Numerik Games

19.01.2017—05.03.2017
Unframed World

24.05.2016
Ligature Connections

21.04.2016—24.04.2016
Rokoloectiv

Awards

01.08.2018
Lumen Prize 2018

Press

20.05.2018
Neural

28.10.2017
Radiancevr.co

05.03.2017
Book: The Unframed World, HEK Basel

2199

Date

2016

Dimensions

3000 x 3000 mm

Hardware / Material

Three rotative platformes and chairs / wood / acrylic / steel / electronic components (motors and drivers, encoder, arduino mega) / speakers / power supply / virtual reality headsets / mac mini

Software

Unity / Arduino

2199 is a performative virtual reality installation, questioning the notion of authority, perception and control. Three users wear virtual reality helmets and are seated on platforms that can rotate. Together, they are committed to a choreography by a voice giving them orders.

User finds himself in a minimal virtual world, abstract but rather faithful to the spatial physical reality around him. Thus, the platforms and chairs are appearing in both virtual and physical realms and are positioned accordingly. Users head rotations are also transcribed in the virtual world in real time

At this point, the experience begins with a voice welcoming the user and giving him orders. He is not explicitly forced to follow the orders of this voice, but the context conditions him to do so. The voice invites him to look at some precise points in the virtual world containing textual instructions, which launch physical rotations of the platform and its chair. The user control its own movement within the range of what we allow him to do.

Together with the others two participants, he is committed to a choreography. Without being made aware of, the user becomes an actor of the artwork, giving it life and assuming the potential responsibility for its success or interpretation.

At every moment, he gets a glimpse of what the others are doing through the virtual reality. Does the fact of being part of a group reinforce the feeling of obedience and therefore creates a cohesive choreography? When does the user become conscious of this trickery ?

The experiment stops by bringing all the users back into the initial position and causing them to take off the VR headset. The experience is usually followed by a discussion with “the performers” explaining the means and inviting them to watch the next choreography that will be performed by the following visitors.

The work then takes all its meaning with this double reading and this confrontation between what happens simultaneously in the real environment and in the virtual one.

2199 is a reference to the year people are supposed to live in the movie Matrix, which is itself inspired by the book Neuromancer written by William Gibson. In this book, virtual reality has become impossible to differentiate from the reality, therefore used to force people into decisions.

It can also be seen as freely inspired by the experiences of control and submission to the authority conducted in the sixties, such as the experience of Milgram. In the context of an artistic experience too, there is a moral acceptance of the protocol put in place. In a group, members will tend to seek peer approval and to conform to their behavior. Visitors will be very influenced to what other visitors will have done before them.

In this artistic experiment, we use these principles and try to see how far visitors can be pushed by orders that become more and more absurd as the experience unfolds. This experience also allows to account the degree of immersion that each person can access. This degree varies greatly depending on the individual. For instance, some person managed to ignore the environment in which they are initially and all that arises, such as fear of looking ridiculous or the sensation of being observed.

2199 is an unprecedented experience which constitutes a reflection and a critique of our vulnerability using such technologies, especially virtual reality, which is today victim of its success and is too often used without reflections.

Exhibitions

04.04.2018—08.04.2018
Mirage Festival

21.11.2017
Digitaltag ZHDK

24.08.2017—27.08.2017
Numerik Games

19.01.2017—05.03.2017
Unframed World

24.05.2016
Ligature Connections

21.04.2016—24.04.2016
Rokoloectiv

Awards

01.08.2018
Lumen Prize 2018

Press

20.05.2018
Neural

28.10.2017
Radiancevr.co

05.03.2017
Book: The Unframed World, HEK Basel